The End is Upon Us…

With the upcoming release of the Nintendo Switch, the Wii U is coming to an end, and will receive it’s final Nintendo game release on March 3rd – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Which I am SUPER excited for). For most fans of the company this doesn’t seem to have a great deal of impact, however I wanted to speak about the console from my perspective.

The Wii U Console released in November 2012 and since it’s launch, it received a generally positive reception, praising it’s gamepad controller, the fact that it’s the first Nintendo console to stream its games in HD, affordability, and the non-reliant online subscription that other users had to pay when comparing other consoles of that generation. However with these positives also comes negatives… It had a weak lineup of launch titles which resulted in low sales. It had very little third-party support and next to no marketing plugged into it. Nintendo just hadn’t put the time and effort into developing its new flagship console. Sales for the Wii U are at an all time low, with only 13.36 million consoles sold world wide, compared to its predecessor, the Wii, which sold 101.63 million units!! It is a shame really, because I bloom in’ love it!

Since receiving the console in April 2016 I have played the console for just under for 200 hours, which yes, sounds like a minuscule amount of time spent on a home console, but with the recent launch of my self-employed career, my time has been devoted to that, so I’m pretty impressed with 194 hours of game time! Titles that have been released so far, although scarce, are good! You have the classics like: Mario Kart 8, Smash Bros and TLoZ:WW/TP and then the newbies such as: Splatoon, Bayonetta and Pokken Tournament… not to mention Minecraft! I mean the fun is endless and during those measly 194 hours, I had a hell of a lot of fun. The backwards compatibility function also gave me the opportunity to revisit some good old Wii classics and play TLoZ:SS which before then, I had never got the chance to play.

It truly is a shame that such a great console, didn’t get the recognition nor the time that it deserved, but with the Xbox One and the PS4, there was just no way that it could ever compete. It had the makings of a brilliant idea that just didn’t quite hit the mark and on March 3rd, I will be buying The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild and revisiting my Wii U console once again, to give it a new lease of life in the hope that those 194 hours double or even triple! I’m excited for the launch of the Nintendo Switch and all that it has to offer, but I feel that I’m just not quite ready to say goodbye to, what is in my opinion, one of my favourite consoles.

One thought on “The End is Upon Us…

  1. Those that tell you that the Wii U sucks has never owned a Wii U. I love my Wii U and it is indeed the most underated console of all time. I am hyped for the switch but I am not retiring my Wii U anytime soon as it is such a great console and if you any Wii U owner almost all of them will tell you how much they love it as opposed to the PS4 or XBox One

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

